books · mental healt · realistic fiction

Mini-review: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

32187354TITLE:  The State of Grace
WRITTEN BY: Rachael Lucas
PUBLISHED BY: MacMillan Children’s books
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 260

star3

(PLOT BY GR) Sometimes I feel like everyone else was handed a copy of the rules for life and mine got lost. Grace has Asperger’s and her own way of looking at the world. She’s got a horse and a best friend who understand her, and that’s pretty much all she needs. But when Grace kisses Gabe and things start to change at home, the world doesn’t make much sense to her any more. Suddenly everything threatens to fall apart, and it’s up to Grace to fix it on her own. Whip-smart, hilarious and unapologetically honest, The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas is a heart-warming story of one girl trying to work out where she fits in, and whether she even wants to.

thoughts

This will be a super mini review because I don’t have much words for it and I still don’t understand why I didn’t actually enjoyed this book.
“State of Grace” is a story about an autistic girl who lives love, family and friendship with Asperger — I generally loved this kind of books but I didn’t have that sparkle with Grace. I just felt like a reader who was reading a story without feeling it.

I know there are an infinite amount of good reviews out there so it could probably a wrong-time reading and if I am going to pick it up in a few months or years I could follow in love with this book but right now I don’t feel it.
I really couldn’t give it more than a 3 stars review.

2 thoughts on “Mini-review: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

  1. I had trouble with this one too, tbh.😭 I felt like the plot was a bit bland and the romance didn’t even have a single spark…like I don’t even remember the love-interests name or anything about him?!? Eeek. But I thought the autism rep was very well done, the writing just maaaybe needed a little something more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

