books · reviews · series

Review: Potion Diaries by Amy Alward

23344222TITLE:  Potion Diaries
WRITTEN BY: Amy Alward
PUBLISHED BY: Simon & Schuster UK
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 320
TRIGGERS: boredom.

star2

(PLOT BY GR) When the Princess of Nova accidentally poisons herself with a love potion meant for her crush, she falls crown-over-heels in love with her own reflection. Oops. A nationwide hunt is called to find the cure, with competitors travelling the world for the rarest ingredients, deep in magical forests and frozen tundras, facing death at every turn. Enter Samantha Kemi – an ordinary girl with an extraordinary talent. Sam’s family were once the most respected alchemists in the kingdom, but they’ve fallen on hard times, and winning the hunt would save their reputation. But can Sam really compete with the dazzling powers of the ZoroAster megapharma company? Just how close is Sam willing to get to Zain Aster, her dashing former classmate and enemy, in the meantime? And just to add to the pressure, this quest is ALL OVER social media. And the world news. No big deal, then.

thoughts
I started ‘The Potion Diaries’ as a book for my YALC preparation and I don’t know how I have found myself so disappointed in this story even with no expections what so ever! I jumped into this book as a light and fast reading but I find myself in front of a story that it was definitely not meant for me.

“The Potion Diaries” tells the story of Princess Evelyn who mistakenly poisoned herself with a love potion and fell in love with her reflection on the mirror.
This premise already represents the story as something really light to read. I didn’t grab this book in the hope to find something deep and challenging.
But “The Potion Diaries” dragged me in something so boring that I have to forced myself to finish the book and do not label it as ‘DNF’.
After a few chapters became the HUNGER GAMES OF BORINGNESS: the entire book is about the alchemists searching the ingredients for the antidote. I mean THE ENTIRE BOOK!

The characters weren’t well definited and this fact didn’t allow me to emphatize with any of them nor even the main character. “The Potion Diaries” has also been written with a third person point of view and this didn’t help at all the story. There was such a lack of feelings and emotions!

The silver lining of reading this book was that it didn’t have a cliffhanger so it made me so easy to never read a single book from this series EVER again.
Even the ending was so predictable. There wasn’t a single line in this book that made think “oh my god, I didn’t expect this!”. NOTHING!
I have read it in two days and I am so glad that I bought it as a used copy. I don’t think I will ever see this again.

I really don’t get the hype that surrounds this series. It was such a big NO to me!

2 thoughts on “Review: Potion Diaries by Amy Alward

  1. I’ve seen this book mentioned a couple of times on twitter and I was curious about it, but I think I can comfortably put it on my no-thanks shelf after reading the synopsis and your review. I was digging the fantasy and alchemy aspects until it started talking about big pharma and social media? I don’t like modern aspects in fantasy, it feels out of place. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

