books · diverse books · mental healt · realistic fiction

Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman

tumblr_o2ny6tpjnz1u7obnso1_400TITLE:  Solitaire
WRITTEN BY: Alice Oseman
PUBLISHED BY: Harper Collins
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 392
TRIGGERS: self harm, eating disorder, depression, suicide.

star3.5

(PLOT BY GR) In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story. My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.  Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.
I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.


thoughts

‘Solitaire’ was pretty disappointed to me: I was expecting a blogging centric story instead I’ve found a story about not fitting with the regular teenager life and the enigma ‘Solitaire’. Don’t make me wrong I still appreciate the story but I wanted something totally different from this book.

‘Solitaire’ is also a story about mental health; even with Oseman’s very young age the author is able to write about it in a such realisti way. I am so thrilled especially about Tori’s depression that I didn’t really realize it until a few chapters at the end.
The main character, Tori, has depression which the reader don’t really notice until when suicidal thoughts set it — that is also why this story is so realistic because sometimes you are not able to notice if someone is depressed until you are not in his head — Tori is also an introvert which lead her to not fit in with the regular teenager life.
Also Tori’s brother suffers of eating disorder and suicidal thoughts. There is also self harming in the book (be aware). What made me insanely mad was the behaviour of the parents: Tori is always the one there for her brother instead her parents almost don’t even reacts when he tries to hurt himself. Almost like it was normal for them! (WHAT THE HELL?! I mean my parents didn’t even make me closed the door of my room when I was constantly bullying at school. They still check on me when I spend too many time with the door closed.)

I also loved the fact that this is not a lovestory. I mean there scenes where the story between Micheal and Tory could have been resulted totally romantic for the reader but ‘Solitaire’ focused only on the friendship part and I really loved it. We actually need a lot more friendship story on mental health.

I will definitely read ‘Radio Silence’ which is the 2nd book written by Alice Oseman. Also she has such a good taste on picking up name for her characters.

quote

“I don’t want people to be worried about me. There’s nothing to worry about. I don’t want people to try and understand why I’m the way I am, because I should be the first person to understand that. And I don’t understand yet. I don’t want people to interfere. I don’t want people in my head, picking out this and that, permanently picking up the broken pieces of me.”

Leave a Reply

