Advance Reading Copy · books · diverse books · reviews

Arc-Review: How to make a wish by Ashley Herring Blake

9780544815193TITLE:  How to make a wish
WRITTEN BY: Ashley Herring Blake
PUBLISHED BY: HMH Books for Young Readers
VERSION I READ: e-arc
PAGES: 336
DIVERSITY: bisexual MC, lesbian, PoC.
TRIGGER WARNING: emotional abuse.star3.5

ORDER YOUR COPY NOW

 

(PLOT BY GR) All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father. Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.
thoughts

Thank you to the publisher and the author for sending me a copy through Netgalley;

I can guarantee you that even if I received a copy for free it won’t condition my review in any way.

I had a difficult time in getting completely in the story of “How to make a wish” because I was busy with my mental health issues and also in my reading slump but the book sat in my TBR for too much months and the release date was getting to closed so I forced myself to reading this ARC. And after 40% of the story I quite enjoyed it! I feel pretty terrible for not getting more stars of it because I can’t think of anything wrong with this book. The story is just perfect! Even the diversity on it! The feelings. The emotions. Definitely the main character Grace was completely different than the person I am and I might find some difficulties to relate to her character. But this book is definitely a MUST READ!

Lets start with the diversity on this book. Grace (MC) is a teenager who will discover of being bisexual as she starts to have feelings for EVA, a lesbian and POC teenager who is gonna to moved in with Luca (Grace BFF) after her mother died. Plus Grace will discover that she always been attracted also by female since she was very young — I especially loved this because I am so tired of the “you are straight or you are gay” sentence. News flash people: you can be attracted by different gender!

I need to say a few words on Luca — My personal favorite character!
I loved Luca so much! And I really liked the fact that the author didn’t create any kind of romance between Luca and Grace even if she could have. Luca has always been there for Grace and their relationship made me think about Lucas and Haley friendship in One Tree Hill. We definitely need more F/M friendship in book.

Since Grace’s father died her mother Maggie has gone wild: drinking, careless regarding other people lives and especially her own daughter’s, having sex with the first man who she would have met at a bar. Maggie could be the portrait of the worst mother on earth! Some parts were so hard to read for me especially when Grace keep follow her no matter what! I understand that Maggie is her mother but some things where so unselfish that I couldn’t read it.

I fell in love with the last chapter of the book where you are enlightened about the title of the book “How to make a wish”. I personally love when something like this happen.

I really enjoyed the book and I would recommend it to anyone who are seeking for more diverse books. It is such a sex positive story. Plus it is an #ownvoice and you definitely don’t want to miss it!

quoteNo one really expects a wish to come true.
Do they?”

 

The book will be released on 2nd May. Order your copy NOW!

One thought on “Arc-Review: How to make a wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Leave a Reply

