books · diverse books · reviews

Review: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

25909375TITLE:  Wing Jones
WRITTEN BY: Katherine Webber
PUBLISHED BY: Walker Books
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 384
DIVERSITY: bi-ratial MC.

star3

(PLOT BY GR)With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

thoughts

Thank you to my awesome friend and blogger pal Amy from Read.Dream..Live for gifted me a copy of Wing Jones and made it signed by Katherine Webber. It was one of the best gift I ever received! So thank you!

I have been meant to reading this book for awhile and when I received on the mail I take the opportunity and started as soon as I could.
I quite have mixed feelings about this book and the story in general: it definitely wasn’t what I expected and I just don’t know how I am supposed to react in front of certain things.

  • Everytime Wing (the main character) has to face a tough period like his brother’s coma or her father’s death there are a dragon and a lioness that just pop up to cheer her up. A sort of invisible friends. What I was wondering about this is: is this a bit racist maybe? She is a biracial character (POC/Asian) but one of the few moments where the different culture has been underlined on the book it’s when those friends appear.
  • The year is 1995. WHY? At the start of the story has been specified that it is 1995 but I can’t see the reason. I didn’t notice any difference in the story arc it could have been set in 2017 and the story will be exactly the same. I tried to contact the author on twitter but she never answered my question. This is still a bit question mark for me.

What I really missed on the book is the diversity! The entire Wing’s family is POC or Asian but I didn’t find any kind of culture difference if not the classic: food and school bullying. I mean I enjoyed the story and the relationship between Wing and her brother but I just didn’t feel the diverse-part in the book. I wanted to know more about the culture. More about being biracial and how the world perceives you. I just think the book is missing something.

Little mention to Heather Parker: the most hated character. I found in her a Blair Waldorf version and it pissed me off: a rich and white character who can actually say and act as she wants without consequences. This just made me so mad! I hated Blair Waldorf for that and I hated Heather. People need consequences!

quote   “But I don’t run. Instead, I back into the corner, wishing I were so small that all you could see of me was the tuft of my hair and it was so small you’d mistake it for a dust ball. That’s how small I’m trying to make myself.”  

One thought on “Review: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Leave a Reply

