books · fantasy · reviews · romance · series

Shadow and Bone (Grisha#1) by Leigh Bardugo

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024TITLE: Shadow and Bone (Grisha #1)
WRITTEN BY: Leigh Bardugo
PUBLISHED BY: Square Fish
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 356
WARNING: SHIPPING!

star4

(PLOT BY GR) Alina Starkov doesn’t expect much from life. Orphaned by the Border Wars, she is sure of only one thing: her best friend, Mal–and her inconvenient crush on him. Until the day their army regiment enters the Fold, a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. When their convoy is attacked and Mal is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power not even she knew existed. Ripped from everything she knows, Alina is taken to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. With Alina’s extraordinary power in his arsenal, he believes they can finally destory the Fold. Now Alina must find a way to master her untamed gift and somehow fit into her new life without Mal by her side. But nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. As the threat to the kingdom mounts and her dangerous attraction to the Darkling grows, Alina will uncover a secret that could tear her heart–and her country–in two.
thoughts
The hype for this series was at the stars I spent the last month reading its plot and its reviews on Goodreads and I couldn’t wait to start Grisha and the expectations were totally met. I ADORED THIS SERIES (Ok, I am almost finished the second book but I can already say that I fell in love with the Grisha series and in the next months I am purchasing the Six Crows trilogy. I would read anything written by Leigh Bardugo: hello, new reading obsession!

I might be one in a million on this fandom but I don’t ship Alina and The Darkling. I can’t stand him. I am sorry (I am actually not) but I can’t. I didn’t get his evil charm and don’t get me wrong The Vampire Diaries is the proof that I understand the evil charm (Damon, Kol and Kai. I mean Kai is the evilness but Chris Wood, GOD!) but I don’t. I don’t like him and I kind of hate him — my reasons will be pop up in the next review.
Instead I love a character who isn’t that loved from the fandom (still don’t know why) MAL. He is so freaking sweet and the scenes between him and Alina just make me melt like Olaf.

“What?”
“Thanks for finding me.”
“Always.”

And I am shipping them so BAD! And I am already worried for that because when I ship a couple one of them tend to die. I am literally a CURSED for my shipping it has been scientifically proof that 85% of my shipping ends with a death. We will see. I am totally anxious about this.
Back to Mal: beside his sweetness and charming, he is an outstanding hunter with formidable skills that nobody has.

Alina she is my badass female character (reason I could use this entire trilogy as a book for #OWBOOKCLUB of this month) — she is kind of a cliché as a badass character: not beautiful as the others but with an unstoppable strength and she is also has a power that nobody has and she is in love with her best friend who doesn’t even realize what he feels for her until Alina becomes a Godness but she is amazing! And I loved everything of this book even the cliché parts. Late me fangirling, please.

Leigh Bardugo writing is overwhelming and detailed; she has been able to drag the reader in a Russian world and even if you will struggle to adjust at first you will not remember a world without Grisha at the end.
At the beginning I kept going to the first pages of the map and Grisha’s rankings because I was totally lost and now it’s actually HOME.

quote

“I missed you every hour. And you know what the worst part was? It caught me completely by surprise. I’d catch myself just walking around to find you, not for any reason, just out of habit, because I’d seen something that I wanted to tell you about or because I wanted to hear your voice. And then I’d realize that you weren’t there anymore, and every time, every single time, it was like having the wind knocked out of me. I’ve risked my life for you. I’ve walked half the length of Ravka for you, and I’d do it again and again and again just to be with you, just to starve with you and freeze with you and hear you complain about hard cheese every day. So don’t tell me why we don’t belong together,” he said fiercely.”

One thought on “Shadow and Bone (Grisha#1) by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

