books · feminism

The vagina monologues by Eve Ensler

104734TITLE:  The Vagina Monologues
WRITTEN BY: Eve Ensler
PUBLISHED BY: Virago Press Ltd
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 185
THEME: feminism

star4

(PLOT BY GR) I decided to talk to women about their vaginas, to do vagina interviews, which became vagina monologues…At first women were reluctant to talk. They were a little shy. But once they got going, you couldn’t stop them. Women secretly love to talk about their vaginas. They get very excited, mainly because no one’s ever asked them before.      
thoughts
I read this book for two book clubs: Our Shared Shelf of Emma Watson and #OWBookClub of Of Wonderland which this month theme is Badass Female!

“When you rape, beat, maim, mutilate, burn, bury, and terrorize women, you destroy the essential life energy on the planet.”

I just want to congratulate to Eve Ensler for writing these monologues. I can’t really describe them but they are such badass, especially if we think all of this has been written 20 years ago.
This is a book about VAGINA, of course, but it’s also about being a woman. It is about feminism and fight for our rights. These monologues are here to learn of not being embarrassed on using the word VAGINA. VAGINA. VAGINA. It is also about women lives and how they live/d their own gender in different cultures and different times. It will blow your mind!

NOTE. I just had a conversation with my male co-worker who has 15 years more than me about how my generation and his are so different: I am not embarrassed by my period in anyway I actually talk about period and tampons in front of my male co-worker it’s not a big deal and he was saying how his female-friends would never do something like that because it’s shameful.

There are so many different realities of being a woman even in the same culture and I just realized on reading this book. I definitely need more feminist not-romanced reading in my life.

quote

“The heart is capable of sacrifice. So is the vagina. The heart is able to forgive and repair. It can change it’s shape to let us in. It can expand to let us out. So can the vagina. It can ache for us and stretch for us, die for us and bleed and bleed us into this difficult, wondrous world.”

One thought on “The vagina monologues by Eve Ensler

Leave a Reply

