books · monthly haul/wrap up

My January Wrap-up!

I’m pretty much proud as I started the year — I’ve already bought 6 books + 3 e-books and received one e-arc which I read and review in the same month that I got it. *whaaaaaat!* I know! I have my mini-shelf where it’s landing my TBR that it’s actually yelling for pain and I’m pretty sure it is going in self-destruction mode so I am trying to give it a little relief. I am wondering for how long I’m gonna be able to read like this but I think it is also due to the remarkable books that it was given to me. I LOVE THEM ALL.

Here is my January Wrap-up6 BOOKS (1 audiobook, 1arc, 1 e-book, 3 paperback)

AUDIOBOOKa_monster_calls

A MONSTER CALLS by Patrick Ness ⭐⭐⭐⭐
I have already read this book last year and I fell in love with Patrick Ness, so when my goodreads timeline was flood with A Monster Calls reviews I couldn’t resist and I decided enjoy this story again through an audiobook and let me tell you that Jason Isaac’s voice is so incredible. So I heard the story with Lucius Malfoy as a narrator.

E-BOOK

 

THE ONE MEMORY OF FLORA BANKS by Emily Barr ⭐⭐⭐⭐
I received an e-arc for The one memory of Flora Banks during its release day. It is written in a repetitively way since it has been told by Flora’s point of view, so every time the reader has to go through the loss of memory with Flora. The reading is really simple, overwhelming and emotional.

THE RAVEN KING (THE RAVEN CYCLE #4)⭐⭐⭐ 
One of my 2017 goal is to finish series that I have started during the years, so the first was The Raven Cycle: I don’t think I was able to connect with this serie as much as any other reader — I just deeply connect with Ronan, not so much with Gansey and Blue. But this is definitely a ONE OF KIND reading. You won’t find anything similiar out there.

PAPERBACK

 

FROSTBLOOD by Elly ⭐⭐⭐
The writing in general is fluid and you won’t get bored but the story is always pretty obvious in some points. It looked like nothing remarkable or news to me. The part that I was really interesting into was the darkness/minax part but I felt like it was missing something and the last chapters was written in rush just to closed the story and leave a cliffhanger for the second book.

BEAUTIFUL BROKEN THINGS by Sara Barnard ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Beautiful Broken Things tells the story of Caddy and Rosie which are best friends from 10 years, until Suzanne comes up with all her secrets. It’s a story about friendship and mental health.

REASONS TO STAY ALIVE by Matt Haig ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
“Reasons to stay alive” is a book mainly about depression — there is also OCD and anxiety — who is completely coming from a personal experience of the author. This book is for everyone. It’s not only for people who is fighting everyday with mental disease but it’s most for all those people who don’t know what mental health is. It’s a book against the stigma of MENTAL HEALTH and it is definitely one of my favourite book of the year.

2 thoughts on “My January Wrap-up!

  1. Have you considered reading nonfiction?

    I really enjoy nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

  2. I wasn’t a fan of The One Memory of Flora Banks but I know a lot of people have been raving about it. Great post😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

