books · mental healt · reviews

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

9781509803538

TITLE: Beautiful Broken Things
WRITTEN BY: Sara Barnard
PUBLISHED BY: Macmillan Children’s Books
HOW I GOT IT: Gift from my Secret Santa
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 322

star4

(PLOT BY GR) Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.
thoughts

This book was gifted to me by my Secret Santa this Christmas and it was one of the book that I was most waiting for; I am so glad to say that my expectations weren’t crushed during the reading, at the opposite… I loved so much this book that I’ve already preordered A quiet kind of thunder which is getting released this month.

Beautiful Broken Things is a story about female friendship during high school and its difficulties. Sara Barnard dedicates an entire story about trauma: we all used to hearing stories about abuse until the victim got free, but what happens after that? How the person is dealing with the trauma after the abuse? How is it going to change his/her life?
What I loved the most about this story is that it has not been told from the POW of the person that is dealing with the trauma but how a stranger who becomes a friend is trying to help someone who just facing the consequences of the trauma.
Beautiful Broken Things tells the story of Caddy and Rosie which are best friends from 10 years, until Suzanne comes up with all her secrets. It’s a story about friendship and mental health.

Sara Barnard’s writing is simple and overwhelming, the book is literally a pageturner and it’s impossible to not fall in love with all the three characters: Rosie who is always been a straight shooter and she will always say what she thinks which is quite the opposite of her best friend Caddy who instead always thinks every single words before said them outloud in order to not hurt the receiver; Suzanne is the character who has been suffered more and she’s quite difficult to understand at first because we are not reading directly from her thoughts but it will come the moment where you are going to completly emphasize with her.

I am so glad this was my first book of the year. It definitely left a mark in me: depression and trauma are written in such a good way and it help me to understand how someone else perceives the illness and the difficulties for the loved ones. This book is so precious and we all should read and learn from it.

quote

“Everyone says apologizing works, but it never really does. Not quickly enough anyway.”

My personal favourite quote of this book is one who doesn’t belong to the story but at the beginning and it stucked with me since the moment I read it:

“If I could tell you only one thing,
my message would be this:
the world would be a lonely place
if you did not exist”
Erin Hanson

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

  1. Great review, Alessandra! I couldn’t agree more — that beginning quote really struck a chord with me as well, and the ending broke my heart. But it was such a great book, and I also enjoyed the fact that it was told from someone else’s POV.

    Like

Leave a Reply

