#blogpost · books

#TopTuesday: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016

toptentuesday “Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!”

This won’t be easy. While I am trying to figure something out I already opened my goodreads challenge so I can remember all the books I’ve read this year: 51 BOOKS. (For now (21st Dec), maybe it won’t be a long list for a lot other book bloggers but it definitely is a good accomplished for me!

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff ☆☆☆☆
    This trilogy is unique in its own genre: it’s a scifi book that tells the story through files, emails, chat, reports… it’s like you are living the Illuminae story in first person. Don’t let the number of pages scare you. You are going to devour it.
  2. Am I normal yet? by Holly Bourne ☆☆☆☆☆
    Holly Bourne is my author crush of the year: this book is PHENOMENAL. It tells about mental health and feminist in such a brilliant way. Holly writes a feminist trilogy through a realistic fiction. You cannot miss it.
  3. A court of mist and fury by Sarah J. Maas ☆☆☆☆
    I’ve been forced to read Sarah J. Maas by a multitude of people, for real. I mean I couldn’t jump on Instagram nor Twitter without jumping in a Feyre or Rhysand conversion. I haven’t regret it. The flaw of this serie is the lack of diversity: please Sarah you write amazing stories, but we need more diversity!
  4. Carry on by Rainbow Rowell ☆☆☆☆
    My second book of the 2016 and it was the moment I fell in love with Rainbow Rowell. This story is a must for every Harry Potter fans: there are reference of the world everywhere. It was also my first gay love story and Baz is everything in this book! (Not a realistic fiction, of course)
  5. Asking for it by Louise O’Neill ☆☆☆
    This was one of my first ARCs and one of the most difficult reading I have faced this year, but it’s a must. It’s a story about RAPE and how our currently society faces it. This book is so realistic that it will make you sick.
  6. One by Sarah Crossan ☆☆☆☆☆
    ‘One’ was my first story told in verses and I devoured it. It tells the story about two conjoined twins and it’s so realistic: the story has been told by the sisters POW. Get ready with the tissues! It won’t take too long to read it but it will stay with you.
  7. More happy than not by Adam Silvera ☆☆☆☆
    This is my most recent reading of the year and I fell in love with Adam Silvera: he knows how to destroy a reader. This book teared me apart but it was so realistic that I couldn’t not love it! Please, read this author!
  8. Under rose tainted skies by Louise Gornall ☆☆☆☆
    A realistic story about agoraphobia: you don’t read about this everyday and I learned a lot from this book. We need more diverse books out there. Keep talking about MENTAL HEALTH and it won’t be a stigma anymore.
  9. When we collided by Emery Lord ☆☆☆☆
    I received this book from my only Illumicrate box of 2016 and I couldn’t stop read it. It’s about mental health: depression and bipolarism; we also learned that you need to take care of yourself before jump in a relationship.
  10. The rest of us just live here by Patrick Ness ☆☆☆
    Oh, Patrick Ness! Did I already mention that he is one of my favourite author? Well, this book is so weird! It tells a story about the normal ones — not the one who got superpowers or the chosen ones. I really tend to have so many difficulties on trying to explain a Patrick Ness book. YOU JUST HAVE TO READ IT, that’s it!
Leave a Reply

