books · fantasy · reviews

Nemesis by Anna Banks

nemesis-cover-web-1TITLE:  Nemesis
WRITTEN BY:  Anna Banks
PUBLISHED BY: Feiwel & Friends
HOW I GOT IT: FairyLoot
VERSION I READ: hardback
PAGES: 368

star4

(PLOT BY GR)Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude. Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined. Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?
REVIEW: Nemesis is a fantasy that I’ve been forced to read because it went on my Fairyloot box. Thank you, Anissa for doing this.
In the last years, I’m not really into fantasy. I’m more a contemporary reader and honestly, I wasn’t thrilled after reading the plot of this book. It was pretty confusing to me and I remain in that states while I was reading the first chapters but I’m so glad I didn’t put it down.
Nemesis is a new fantasy story that has everything:

  • SUCH COOL NAMES The female leading character is called SEPORA, it such an unique name. I know it’s also a reminder to Sephora (the cosmetics shop). But it also seems so greek and I think is just perfect for this story.
  • FEMINISM God, I love Sepora! At the start of the story she has been sold as a ‘bed warmer’ and she so pissed off with everybody! “HOW CAN YOU SELL A WOMAN LIKE A COW?!” — This was the moment where I fell in love with her. In other stories, that would have been described as a totally normal thing. So THANK YOU ANNA!
  • MAGICAL CREATURES The Parani there are so misunderstood creatures: they have been forced to killing and eating humans because these last ones took away from them almost any kind of food.
  • PEOPLE WITH POWERSCome one we are in a fantasy we need to read about people with awesome powers. There are Forgers who have the ability to create Spectrum with their own hands and Lingots (my personal favourite) who speaks all the languages and knows when someone is telling the truth. (I WANNA BE A LINGOT)

If I have to find a flaw about this book is the point of view that makes me insane. We have alternative chapters about Tarik and Sepora but we don’t have alternative point of views and I can understand that. What it pisses me off is that is Sepora’s chapters there is Sepora’s POW and when we switch to Tarik’s we got an omniscient narrator: it’s so confusing. I would rather to have an unique point of view (Sepora or the omniscient narrator) or alternative but in this way is just getting on my nerves. Sorry.

Nemesis by Anna Banks is a fresh and original fantasy serie, it has all the elements that a person could look for in a fantasy: there are magic, kingdoms, powers and wars, but there is also feminism and kickass women.
Do you need the title of a book for a last-Christmas-gift? NEMESIS by Anna Banks.

One thought on “Nemesis by Anna Banks

Leave a Reply

