books · mental healt · reviews

Made you up by Francesca Zappia

Tmadeyouup2bcoverITLE: Made you up
WRITTEN BY: Francesca Zappia
PUBLISHED BY: Greenwillow Books
HOW I GOT IT: bookdepository
VERSION I READ: hardback
PAGES: 448

star3

(PLOT BY GR) Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

REVIEW:

“Sometimes I think people take reality for granted”
“Made You Up” is a book about mental health, specifically about schizophrenia, it narrates the story of Alex who is a teenager unable to tell the difference between what’s real and what’s just created by her imagination.
I was thrilled in having this book between my hands — I loved how the first chapter was written: Alex is a little girl looking at a lobsters case at the supermarket and these lobsters are so red as her hairs, while staring at the cretaceous she meets a boy and they decide to get them free but few minutes later she gets stop by her mother. Only years later Alex realizes that was her first schizophrenia episode: Lobsters become red only after being boiled! She thinks everything happened that day was just her imagination until she met that BOY! Is she imagining him right now?

The story is written by Alex’s POW and what I really like about this book is the fact that you as a reader are questioning anything that is happening in the story because you are in Alex’s mind and as her you cannot know what it is real and what is not, at least not until someone tells her.

“Believing something existed and then finding out it didn’t was like reaching the top of the stairs and thinking there was one more step.”

While reading “Made you up” it was like something was missing about this story, like if the illness was too much fictionalize and after reading a review of a person who lives this reality I realized this wasn’t just a feeling.
I’ve found out that visual hallucinations on patients who suffer of schizophrenia are so RARE and even when if it’s ONE of a million case it doesn’t involve all the senses.
That’s why I couldn’t just reach more stars, I feel like the author didn’t research enough about the disease and you all know what I think about not-realistic fiction on MH…
So if you have recommendations about schizophrenia books you are free to leave them on the comments.

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“People say teenagers think they’re immortal, and I agree with that. But I think there’s a difference between thinking you’re immortal and knowing you can survive. Thinking you’re immortal leads to arrogance, thinking you deserve the best. Surviving means having the worst thrown at you and being able to continue on despite that. It means striving for what you want most, even when it seems our of your reach, even when everything is working against you.”

Of course, after a YEAR that I’m waiting to buy this book because I’m not really a fan of hardback especially when I have to read it outside my house — we have a date for the paperback now 14th June 2017!

Advertisements

One thought on “Made you up by Francesca Zappia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s