books · feminism · reviews · series

What’s a girl gotta do? by Holly Bourne

29740718

TITLE: What’s a girl gotta do?
WRITTEN BY: Holly Bourne
HOW I GOT IT: PreOrder-BD
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 432

star4

(PLOT BY GR) HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:
1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender
2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)
3. Always try to keep it funny
4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…
Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

REVIEW: “What’s a girl gotta do?” is the third book of the series Spinster Club written by the amazing Holly Bourne. This time the book is focused on Lottie who has always been the character with more fire about FEMINISM and if I recall well she was the one who got the idea for the spinster club.

After being harassed by two men near to a van while she was going to college, Lottie starts thinking a way to fight with all the sexism that she sees and deals with everyday so she decides to create the project ‘VAGILANTE’ with the help of her friends Evie and Amber in order to call out every act of sexism and inequality that she sees every single day and she captures them on camera with the help of Will, Evie’s friend of the filmmaking course.

I’ve been craved to read this book since EVER so I have to pre-ordered it. This book was everything I was hoping for!
I’ve been in a huge hunger of feminist book in these months, I actually added a lot of them in my wish-list — so, if you know any other title please recommend it in the comments.
Lottie was always one of my favourite character since I read ‘Am I normal yet?’. She’s a mind-speaker, brave and so full of energy. Lottie is unstoppable. I really wish I would have a book like this in my 14 AKA 10 years ago I think it would have totally change my way of facing highschool.

The story is full of FEMINISM (of course) and acts of sexism which sadly are not uncommon in the real world. I will try to focus on just two examples so I won’t spoil the book for you. First of all, STREET HARRASSMENT: which girl never endure something like whistles or not-required compliments yelled to you by a GROUP of ‘men’ on the other side of the street? How many of you have the courage to do something or to say something? A lot of us, decide to NOT do something for fear. You’ll never know what type of reaction you will get, but if it’s a street full of people why not try to do something?
Second of all, CYBERBULLYING: Lottie has been receiving death threats just because she had sex with different boys. Of course, since it’s a girl she is a ‘slut’, right? Why a woman who’s having consensual sex with more than a partner in a limit time is consider an easy girl instead a man he’s a legend? That’s just pissed me off. Especially when these threats are coming from your same gender. WE’RE SUPPOSED TO STICK TOGETHER IF WE WANT A CHANGE.
And before turning this review into a FEMINISM manifest I’m gonna stop here. (I sense a feminist post coming on this blog soon!)
This book gives you the strength and the hunger to actually ANSWER and TAKE ACTION in order to have equality of gender! This book is really amazing.

Beside feminism, the story is full of HARRY POTTER references. DUH, of course! Every single time that I read a line like “10 points to Gryffindor” or “10 points to Hufflepuff” I couldn’t avoid to smile. More books need to have Harry Potter references, damned! I LOVE THIS!

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“When you fight for what you believe in, you come across a lot of obstacles. People who don’t agree with you, people who agree with you but only some bits, people who delight in ripping you down, people who are threatened by the strength of your belief.

But I was beginning to realise, the biggest hurdle to overcome was the hurdle of yourself.”

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: OF COURSE! Do you really want to miss an Holly Bourne book? You certainly DON’T want to! So, buy this book — it can be read even if you haven’t read the first two. It can be a SOLO book, but I also recommend to read the other two because they are AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

