books · retelling · reviews · romance

The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

mediumTITLE: The wrath and the dawn
WRITTEN BY: Renee Ahdieh
HOW I GOT IT: AmazonItalia
VERSION I READ: ebook
PAGES: 317

star3

(PLOT BY GR) One Life to One Dawn. In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all. Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

REVIEW: “The wrath and the dawn” is a retelling of the famous “A Thousand and One Nights” and I must say it was pretty good, but not the GOOD-GOOD that I was expect it.

“The wrath and the dawn” duology dominated my goodreads homepage for months with brilliant and five-full stars review; people couldn’t stop talking about it, they started create an endless amount of stuff like pillows, soaps, candles…
I mean everybody was really digging it this story. So I can say I was kind of forced to read the book from all this love that surrounds the story.

Sadly, the hype was really too high for the story.
Maybe if I wasn’t surround by all these positive reviews and words I would have enjoyed more the book, maybe. The story was good but not enough to reach the 4th star.
I really thought there would have been more story-tellings but it was just like 4/5 stories what about “A Thousand and One Nights”? Where are the thousand stories? I know it’s not realistic having thousand stories in a 300 pages book, but at least more than 10.

The love story between the victim and the psycho happened really too fast for my taste and I’m definitely not a fan of the couple. I understand the attraction to the bad guy and then there is the motivation why he’s killing all these young ladies where he’s more a victim than a psycho, BUT this is the same guy who killed your best friend and raped you the first night at the castle! And you fell in love with him almost right away? HELL NO.

What I like (beside the Arabian settings where you’d almost smell and fell the atmosphere) was Shahrzad, the female main character. Of course, you have to put aside all her fast-attraction to the king… but Shahrzad is really a badass character. I love her temper and curiosity! She’s willing to sacrifice her own life to get the revenge for her BEST FRIEND! So brave!

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“I will live to see tomorrow’s sunset. Make no mistake. I swear. I will live to see as many sunsets as it takes. And I will kill you. With my bare hands.”

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: Sure, maybe stay away from super-positive reviews and I think you will enjoy this.

Leave a Reply

