books · reviews · romance · series

How hard can love be? by Holly Bourne

indexTITLE: How hard can love be?
WRITTEN BY: Holly Bourne
HOW I GOT IT: AbeBooks
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 480

star4

(PLOT BY GR) Amber, Evie and Lottie: three girls facing down tough issues with the combined powers of friendship, feminism and cheesy snacks. Both hilarious and heart-rending, this is Amber’s story of how painful – and exhilarating – love can be, following on from Evie’s story in Am I Normal Yet? All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that. And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.

REVIEW: When I’ve got this book I wasn’t really thrilled about it. Amber was one of my least favourite character on ‘Am I normal yet?’ but I was so anxious on “What’s a Girl Gotta Do?” because it’s utterly about Lottie and feminism, so I need to read the previous book and surprisingly I loved this book and fell in love with Amber!

Amber is leaving the cold UK for the hot USA during the summer, she’s visiting her mother which she doesn’t see from 2 years! I’ve fallen in love with Amber’s awkwardness since the first chapter and I would have totally punched her mother. I mean I get alcholism is a disease (well, sort of.. nobody ever forced you to drink) but leaving your own daughter for running from your disease doesn’t seem really a way to fix the problem! I hate how her family treats her.
Instead I really liked the weird romance between Kyle (I adore the name) and the letter at the end guys, OH THE LETTER AT THE END!

What I love most about the book is the HARRY POTTER references. It’s full of it!
All the kids at the camp are divided in 4 different houses: Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Dumbledore’s Army. Yeah, there’s no Slytherin because the kids who finished in Slytherin started cry, it has seen as the evil house. I loved how Amber got mad about that, but I can related with the kids actually: when I was 11 and ‘Harry Potter and the philisopher’s stone’ just hitted the theatre I considered Slytherin as the house of the evilness, then I grew up and all the books came out and eveything made sense.
I loved how Amber got mad with her mom for putting her in Dumbledore’s Army instead of Gryffindor — sorry, but when a kid grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione he/she just wants to get in GRYFFINDOR! The first time I was sorted in Ravenclaw I needed a little time to adjust myself and I was 20-something. Now I’m a proud Ravenclaw! But I really enjoy the Harry Potter references and how much Amber loves Hogwarts it made me emphatize with her, even more!

“I learned a lesson not to judge people until you’ve found out whether or not they’ve read Harry Potter.”

I mean this is my life question. I always try to not judge people in life but when I found out they never read Harry Potter I really can’t. I am like “what’s wrong with you?”, especially if they’re part of my generation.

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“”Life doesn’t always have to be about changing the world. Sometimes it’s about living your life for you…trying to find some happiness, completely selfishly, but just for you…and you should adopt the same lack of fear you have in your feminism to your search for happiness.”

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: ALWAYS. I will always recommend a book from Holly especially this serie. This is such a bible for young women.

One thought on “How hard can love be? by Holly Bourne

  1. I adore this series, especially Am I normal yet? ! It covers such important topics in such a realistic way (although I didn’t find Lottie as relatable as the others) and whilst being funny and enjoyable – Holly Bourne is a genius!

    Like

Leave a Reply

