#blogpost · mental healt · spotlight on

Spotlight on: Holly Bourne

“Spotlight on”  is my first (hopefully) recurrent post on the blog, I’m planning to make it a MONTHLY thing; the purpose of these blog-posts is to spread out the voice about Young Adult, especially the authors (new or less new) who makes this world so special to us. In the future, it might contains storytellers who hasn’t written only YA books.

I want to direct my first spotlight on someone who I discovered lately, but I’ve fallen in love with her in an instact: HOLLY BOURNE, she is a british author who lives in London and she writes mostly about feminism. Sadly, a lot of women don’t want to embrace the feminism because they don’t really get what it is. FEMINISM is not hating men. FEMINISM is fighting for your genre to have the same rights that men have! It’s not hate someone, but it’s love yourself. All the men should embrace feminism too.

5 THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT HOLLY

  1. Holly’s first two books, Soulmates and The Manifesto on How to be Interesting, have been critically acclaimed and translated into six languages. (Sadly, not my language. Come on, Italian publishers. We have a big talent here!)
  2. Holly always tries to help others when she can. Infact, when she is not working/writing she is a relationship adviser on THE MIX, a charity-run website that helps 16-25-year-olds with practically every problem you can imagine growing up.
  3. She created the Spinter Club in “Am I normal yet?”. It’s a recurrent meeting between the main characters (Evie, Lottie and Amber) who find each other to talk about FEMINISM: they discuss about daily problems that a woman faces every single day. The reader were so thrilled about this club that they want to create one of their own. So Holly came with the idea of THE SPINSTER CLUB STARTER PACK where you can download your member ship, discussion points during the meetings and there’s even a feminism BINGO!
  4. Beside feminism, she openly talks about the mental healt stigma. Differently from many other authors who writes about mental healt issue: Holly writes realistic fiction where the issue doesn’t disappear only because you’ve found a boyfriend/girlfriend, actually it’s the opposite — if you’re not taking care about yourself before you won’t be able to taking care about someone else. (I don’t know about you, but I’m so sick about this magical love that makes your problems disappear)
  5. She is  active on the social media. She cares about every single topic: I loved how she was pissed about Brexit. (P.s. I was too. Actually, I am!). She always answer on twitter and she’s also a partecipant on a few live chat on twitter. She’s really active in the book bloggers world.

 

 

 

RECOMMEND ONE BOOK

23592235

“All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…”

“AM I NORMAL YET?” is definitely my favourite book (for now, I still have a preorder that is coming my way!) — you can read the review HERE. It is not just a mental healt story, but also a FEMINIST one — I was overwhelmed by the feminism in this book, it’s amazing, it gives you the strenght to fight even more.

You will find its sequel review on this blog later this week.

I’m so sad I wasn’t able to meet Holly at YALC last weekend, but sadly I live in Italy (duh) and I discovered about the event too late 😦 I really hope to meet her next year and I need my books signed by her.

You can follow Holly on twitter >>  @holly_bourneYA

I hope you enjoyed the post and hopefully there will be a lot more to come.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spotlight on: Holly Bourne

  1. I read The Manifesto on How to be Interesting and I LOVE it. Am I Normal Yet? is on my TBR. I LOVE Holly Bourne’s writing!! She sounds like a great person! I’d love to meet her but I’m suuuuuuper awkward. hahaha. (and I doubt she’ll visit my country any time soon).

    Like

      1. I live in the Philippines. Sooooo far away. And I don’t think an author from UK has ever visited us. But still crossing my fingers.

        Like

Leave a Reply

