books · mental healt · realistic fiction · reviews · romance

When We Collided by Emery Lord

9781408870082TITLE: When we collided
WRITTEN BY: Emery Lord
HOW I GOT IT: Illumicrate
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 344
GENRE: young adult, contemporary, romance, mental healt.

star4

(PLOT BY GR) Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them. Vivi and Jonah couldn’t be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi’s zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there’s something important Vivi hasn’t told him.

REVIEW: I need to thank Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner for introducing me to this author and of course, Illumicrate for providing me with this book.
Beware this review may cointain spoiler about the story.
“When we collided” is a story about two people who are so broken and they’re trying on putting together all their pieces by seeing each other. What happens when you’re falling apart? Will you be able to take care of your relationship when you can’t even take care of yourself? The answer is a BIG NO.
The story is set in Verona Cove (California), after Jonah lost his father he needs to help his big brother take care of his little brother and sisters (there are three of them) while their mother is falling down in depression every day more. Jonah’s life seems to get a happy turn when Vivi’s popping out of the blue with this positive energy all around her. But things are not what they seem and Vivi might need help for herself. She has bipolar disorder.

Emery Lord writes an unique love story where all the mental problems don’t end up in disappering in front of LOVE. They stick there and if you won’t find a way to manage them, hiding in love relationship won’t help either.
She writes a realistic fiction on mental healt: grief, depression and bipolar disorder.

I’ve actually heard about bipolar disorder for the first time on a tvshow called 90210: Silver, one of the main character, was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and she had these moments were she was like the SUN and the minute later she was the saddest person on the planet. I’ve seen these sympthoms on Vivi since the first chapters.
It’s my first book about this type of mental illness and I think Emery portraited how it is to live and manage with bipolarism in a magnificently WAY!

The power of this brilliant reading increases thanks to different POWs: we can feel how it is to live and try to manage mental illness, but also how it is to try to help and interact with someone who suffers from it.
It’s really a powerful book and it will definitely break your heart. But it’s also a MUST READ.

FAVOURITE CHARACTER
My favourite character is definitely VIVI. She is so full of positive energy, but at the same time she’s hiding something really deep. She doesn’t let others see her dark side but she focuses all her energy in helping others and smile for other people.

“Every girl wants to be Dorothy Gale or maybe Glinda. I never wanted to be the tornado.”

And I loved being in her head and had a taste on how it is to live with bipolar disorder. What your mind can make you think and especially can make you do.
The mind sometimes can be a very dark place.

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“Maybe we were dying planets, Jonah, being drawn into the darkness. I hold my right palm against his cheek, and I wish I could touch him with both my hands. When we collided, we bounced each other back into orbit. And now we have to do that–we have to return to our own paths because that’s what we gave each other.”

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: I recommend this book to everybody who wants to educate themlselves on mental healt illness: bipolar and depression; and to who wants to read a lovestory a little different than what we used to.

7 thoughts on “When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. I’m glad you liked this one, I just buyed it in June and I’m definitely looking forward to read it. Great review!

    Like

  2. Didn’t want to spoil things for myself, so I just skimmed your review. I’m really looking forward to this one. It’s so important for different mental illnesses to represented in fiction and I don’t think I’ve read about a character who is bipolar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

