books · reviews

Is everyone hanging out without me? by Mindy Kaling

indexTITLE: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
WRITTEN BY: Mindy Kaling
HOW I GOT IT: AbeBooks
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 220
GENRE: non fiction, humor, biography, essay.

star3

(PLOT BY GR) Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?” Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!

REVIEW: I love Mindy since the first time I started watch ‘The Mindy Project’, she is such a genuine person and I can’t stop laughing when she talks. She’s also a formidable writer and I wanted to read a book of hers since EVER so when I found a good deal of ‘Is everyone hanging out without me?’ on AbeBooks I just couldn’t resist. Plus the title was perfect for my current situation.

I’ve been really down these months and my reading choices didn’t help at all; I read books that were the opposite of light reading from abuse (The problem with forever) to rape (Asking for it) — brilliant books, but I really need something cheerful and Mindy knows how to make people laugh.
The book is an autobiography from her life in highschool to her first step into Hollywood: Mindy is so real and there is nothing in this world that can get her down — she’s the best friend that everybody needs. I know I need something like her in my life. So I picked up her book and didn’t regret it.
It’s so easy to read ‘Is everyone hanging out without me?’. Mindy uses a conversational tone, so it’s like you’re having a chat with one of your dearest friend while you’re drinking coffee. She’s so funny, she can trasform a depressed situation on something to smile about it. I love her! Can I have her spirit?

The book was really refreshing and I’ll definitely read ‘Why not me?’, it should be the book after The Mindy Project success.

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“I’m the kind of person who would rather get my hopes up really high and watch them get dashed to pieces than wisely keep my expectations at bay and hope they are exceeded. This quality has made me a needy and theatrical friend, but has given me a spectacularly dramatic emotional life.”

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: If you didn’t get it before: I LOVE MINDY KALING! I adore her. She’s a sunshine, she loves food and she’s unique so it’s her book!
If you need a light reading just in order to get your mood right for your next book this is the book who’s gonna help you to smile again!

Leave a Reply

