books · reviews · series

The evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

13643567

TITLE: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)
WRITTEN BY: Mara Dyer
HOW I GOT IT: AbeBooks
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 527
GENRE: young adult, contemporary, fantasy, mistery, trilogy.

star3

(PLOT BY GR) The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

REVIEW: I loved the first book of this serie, it was brillant and I couldn’t put it down; this was the second book of a trilogy and I know that a middle book it stands there just to get you to the last part. The Evolution of Mara Dyer was no exception it was written just to bring the reader the final act of Mara’s story.

I can’t speak openly about the plot of the book because it would be a lot of spoilers both for who hasn’t read yet the first book and for who wants to read the second one, so I will try to talk about in general without going in the details. If it gets confusing I’m sorry but it’s for your own sake.

I’ve been bored for 2/3 of this book, it was just endless for me. The story focused on Mara dealing with mental issues that she doesn’t have. Nobody believes her and what she has seen (I’m so not gonna say who/what is it!) and when nobody believes you it means you’re crazy. So Mara starts to attend these meetings with other people who suffer of mental issues against her willing but since she’s underage she doesn’t have any other choices.
In addition, when Mara faints or has blackout we’ve got  weird flashbacks that indicate Mara didn’t always live the life that she’s currently has. This book was super confusing.

But the last part of the book was SPEACHLESS. Finally we got a few answers and we start to get what Mara has and why she has got these powers and she is not the only one! The last chapter remembered me a lot of Maze Runner, I don’t know if it’s just me but everything made me think about WICKED. (I’ve already said too much).

At the end this book was good. It wasn’t brilliant as it’s previous one, but it’s still a middle book: it answered a few questions and it brought the reader deeper in Mara’s story. We all know more about her and a few hints about her past.
I can’t wait to read the last book of this trilogy. I hope everything will receive an answer.

FAVOURITE CHARACTER
Mara, this time I’m going with the lead character.
She is strong and she always puts everybody’s healt before hers. She’s willing to kill herself in order to protect the people that she loves.
Mara is kicking ass in this book, especially in the last few chapters.

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“One second, he had pressed me so deeply against the wall that I thought I would dissolve myself into it. The next, he was the trapped one, inside the patient room, inside with me. But I was no longer the victim. “

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: Definitely, if you start a story you need to finish it.

Leave a Reply

