books · mental healt · reviews · series

Am I normal yet? by Holly Bourne

23592235

TITLE: Am I normal yet?
WRITTEN BY: Holly Bourne
HOW I GOT IT: AbeBooks
VERSION I READ: paperback
PAGES: 434
GENRE: young adult, contemporary, mental healt, feminism, fiction.

star5

(PLOT BY GR) All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…
But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

REVIEW:  I really want to read something truthful and real about mental healt, I was tired of all these books where the female character’s problems will cease thanks to the romance, when the girl finds her true love: I mean a 16 YEARS GIRL FINDS HER TRUE LOVE — 16? Really? And everything will be allright. This type of book helps no one, TRUST ME!
I really love a good romance, but you should stop send the message where you will be miserable until you will find a boy. First of all, it’s anti-feminist like a woman needs a man to be happy, really? Second of all, if you’re a woman and sending a message like that to a young audience you should be ashamed of yourself.

This book was recommended to me from a lot of reading pals in a session of #SundayYA about mental healt and I just need it to try on. I find myself in front of a touching story about a girl who suffers of OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder): the story was written magnificentely, every thoughts and actions were explained (in a sort of way) by the main character. It wasn’t just a mental healt story, but also a FEMINIST one — I was overwhelmed by the feminism in this book, it’s amazing, it gives you the strenght to fight even more. (Only Holly could write an entire chapter discussing about PERIOD! It was priceless.)
The story has been told entirely from Evie’s POW and that’s what makes every reader, even the one who didn’t have nothing to do with any kind of mental healt issue, understands the disease; I really want to give this book to all my friends.

I found my self drag into Evie’s world where she tries to be in control of herself but she can’t; Evie suffers of OCD and she’s terrified by anykind of germs: she can’t take a train or share a box of popcorn with friends and she washes her hands so harshly that they barely have any skin attached. She keeps focusing of being in control of her life until she’s not and realizes of needing help.

This could totally be labeled as a self help book. Personally I find my self a lot in Evie, I don’t suffer of OCD but I have my part of dealing with mental healt issues and I know the feeling of loneliness and the need to be normal like everyone else.
‘Am I normal yet?’ shows some therapeutic techniques to deal with mental issues like the worries tree: everytime you’re full of worries for something you should ask yourself

“Can I do something about this problem?”
If the answer is YES than you should do something, instead if the answer is NO there’s no need to worrying about it.
This book is a bible.

FAVOURITE CHARACTER
I would say Lottie, but since every spinster club’s girl gets a book I will say the main character: EVIE.
As I said before it’s really easy to relate with Evie: it’s like living in her head and in some way you start to understand why she behaves in that exact way and you really get her. I especially understands her in a lot of BAD THOUGHTS, I have a lot of them too and friends are always ready to say “stop being depressed, you need to have a positive thought” — well, my mind doesn’t work like that so I just stop to open up with some people.

 

FAVOURITE QUOTE

“That’s the thing about anxiety. You can worry about anything and everything, dream up all sort of weird and wonderful situations to be terrified of in the hope your fear will control the world somehow.. and yet the world remains uncontrollable.”

I want this quote everywhere. It’s so true. It explains anxiety perfectly.

RECOMMEND THE BOOK: The world should read this book because it’s different from everything you will ever read. You’ll get to know a new world. You’ll get to understand what happens in people’s mind. So, maybe you’ll stop of being so judgy.
It’s a book full of feminism too. Holly Bourne has this energy in her that just makes your day better. This book came to me in a really bad moment and it helped me to get through it.

11 thoughts on “Am I normal yet? by Holly Bourne

  1. Great review. It’s nice to hear that there is a book that talks about mental health in a realistic way.

    Like

  2. I loved this book too! Ely and I buddy read it, and I was so happy we did! I could also identify with how Evie’s health started getting worse again, and it made me so anxious but also… I was so proud of Evie. So yeah, I loved loved loved it.

    Like

  3. The romance thing is THE REASON why I don’t read YA at all. I think it’s just my luck that almost all the YA books I read were like that, but let’s admit it – A LOT of YA books have this POV. Which is absolutely wrong. In the 21st century as well! I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

