books · dystopian · reviews

Breathe by Sarah Crossan

11544466
TITLE: Breathe
WRITTEN BY: Sarah Crossan
PAGES: 373
HOW I GOT IT: (eng)
VERSION I READ: ebook
GENRE: young adult, scifi, romance, fiction, dystopian.

star4

“Breathing is a right, not a privilege, so I’m stealing it back. I’m nervous, but I’m not scared.”
(Plot by GR) The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope.
Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything.

REVIEW: I’ve been obsessed with start reading Sarah Crossan‘s books since a while, ‘One’ caught my attention from months and after this reading I’m even more convinced to buying the paperback of ONE. (Give me that NOW!)
Usually when I open a dystopian book I’m always afraid of facing the same old story that just gets bored and bored: I’ve been reading this genre for almost 10 years and the story seems all the same to me, but Crossan does a FANTASTIC job and brings the reader in this world without boring details with interesting chracters, but the best part of the story is THE LACK OF OXYGEN (I’ve never read something like THIS!): people are forced to go around with an oxygen tank and when it finished they have to buy another tank in order to actually SURVIVE. People works to BREATHE.
I’m so thrilled about this story!

What’s interesting is this dystopic world (sadly not that far away from our reality) is that the Goverment (or Premium as they get called in the book) are the ones who willingly destroy the world and they’re gonna do whatever it takes in order to mantain the power. Against them there’s the faction of Resistence (tree huggers) who have been called terrorists.

The story has been developed in three different POW: Alina is part of the Resistence and she’s gonna try to escape from the dome since she’s been hunted from the Premium. Quinn is the male character and a Premium’s son, not just a simple Premium but the general’s son. Bea is Quinn’s BFF who’s in love with him (of course).

‘Breathe’ is a story that is gonna leave you without breathe and you won’t put down the book until the very last page.

WHAT I LIKE: ✔ It’s a book about enviroment: Earth has no more oxygen for the lack of trees and all of this it’s because of the men >> deforastation and a goverment who is willing to exterminate all the human race in order to have power.
✔ The resistence. I love people who fights for their rights and freedom.
✔ The surviving skills. They’re teenagers and they know how to move on a war field.

WHAT I DON’T LIKE: ✖ Nothing. This book has nothing wrong. Maybe I don’t like the lackness of humanity in a lot of characters. They’re so TRUMP!

One thought on “Breathe by Sarah Crossan

Leave a Reply

