books · reviews · series

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

dGV7lCE
TITLE:  Raven Boys – The Dream Thieves
WRITTEN BY: Maggie Stiefvater
HOW I GOT IT: amazon
VERSION I READ:  ebook
PAGES: 519
GENRE:  young adult, contemporary, romance, fantasy, series.

star3

(PLOT BY GR) If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take? Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself. One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams. And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things. Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them.
Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness.
Her raven boys.”

REVIEW: After finished reading the first book of ‘Raven Boys’ I could not resist to start the second one, ‘The Dream Thieves’, because when I start something I cannot stop and waiting too much between a book and another, especially if they’re two parts of the same story. Beside my good willing, I’ve stopped my reading after four or five chapters; I’ve continued the reading a few weeks later and I actually devoured the rest of the book as it happened with the first one.
The first part of the book was a little hard to read it and a bit annoying, but even if I wasn’t expect it anything from this book since it’s a central book and a bunch of bad reviews on goodreads, I have to say that I was pretty convinced by it.
Although Ronan is not really my favourite raven boy (maybe my 2nd one) I’ve loved how the author focused the story on HIM, giving us more details on his ability to take items, animals and sadly horrible creatures from dreams, also we have a lot of insights on his family and on Ronan’s past; we start to understand Ronan’s behaviour and he’s loyalty with Gansey.
I’ve been amazed on the relationship with the bad guy, Kavinsky: I thought he was just a background character. It’s amazing how Maggie treats topics like that, unusual for a these genre of books.
I love how the relationship between Blue and Gansey starts to develop in this book, even if it’s a new relationship but it’s a START! The love story that should be the centre of this book be put aside it’s so strange for a young adult book and I LOVE IT, especially because the main character becomes the MAGIC and the supernatural even if everything is a little bit slow. But afterall the serie has got TWO MORE BOOKS, so everything can still happen.

WHAT I LIKE: ✔ The focusing on Ronan, on his power and the development of his character.
✔ The little devolpment on Blue and Gansey relationship, finally they admit to feel something for one another.
✔ Adam and his new role on the discover on the King Welsh.

WHAT I DON’T LIKE: ✖ Even if Adam is finally doing something, I still can’t really appreciate him; he still victimize himself too much, his stubborness on keeping refuse some else’s help; come on, your friends are trying to help you why don’t you accept it?
✖ The book is too much on Ronan and even if I love his storyline, everything else looses it a little bit: like Blue, she should be the main character but she’s just a background charater in this book, or the search for the welsh king.
✖ I don’t really enjoy the new characters, I’m not convinced.

Leave a Reply

