books · classic · reviews

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

The_Bad_Beginning_(UK)

TITLE: The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)
WRITTEN BY: Lemony Snicket
PAGES: 176
HOW I GOT IT: bookdepository
VERSION I READ: hardback
GENRE: children book, fiction, mistery, classic.

star3

“In this book, not only is there no happy ending, there is no happy beginning and very few happy things in the middle.”
(PLOT BY GR) Dear Reader,I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

REVIEW: (It might contain spoilers) I’ve started this book as I was so curious about it — long time ago, I’ve seen the movie adaptation with Jim Carrey and Emily Browning which I didn’t really enjoy it, but since the announcement of a Netflix serie I’ve thought I should give a chance to those books; I’ve found the first one on Abebooks at a really good price and I didn’t think it too much before putting it on my cart.
Lemony Snicket’s series are books for middle grade children and you can notice that since the beginning: the narrator explains the meaning of a bunh of words and I LOVE this, especially because my native language is italian so I didn’t know a few of these words. Even if the book’s target are just children, the story can be a little cruel i.e. when Count Olaf decides to hang Sunny at the edge of a tower (Sunny is a toddler, I MEAN WHAAAT?!)
You don’t expect a soft story because you’ll be disappointed. As the narrator says again and again “In this book, not only is there no happy ending, there is no happy beginning and very few happy things in the middle.” And the story is actually without an happy ending, even if you take a breath for a few moments, the narrator will drag you down in the dark.

I’ve actually devoured this book and the story is a page-turner. The reading is so easy and intriguing — I’m gonna read the other books sooner or later (maybe later, they’re already too much books on my TBR).

WHAT I LIKE:✔ The way the story has been told. Especially, how the narrator talks directly with the reader.
✔ How the narrator explains the meaning of the words used in the story.
✔ KLAUS, he’s my favourite character and he’s so relatable >> HE IS A BOOK EATER.

WHAT I DON’T LIKE: Honestly I like everything of this book.
✖ Maybe I don’t really like the fact that all the adults in this book are just mean and heartless and they’re willing to kill kids in order to have money.

Leave a Reply

